11
Mar
09

Hajimimashite. Douzo yoroshiku onegaishimasu.

Loosely translated, the above means “Good to meet you.  Please deal well with me” in Japanese.  The ritual for introductions in the Japanese business world is formalized to the point that you don’t actually have to start thinking about what to say until at least a few minutes in.  I often wish that worked as well in English.

Introductions are awkward at the best of times, and certainly one’s first blog post falls into that category.

Ahem.

Hi, you should read me constantly and quote me to people and link others to me and allow me to influence your opinions.

If it’s not too much trouble.

I’m a self-identified feminist, an artist, a graduate student, a parent of two wonderful cats, and highly, highly opinionated.  About pretty much everything.

I read a lot.  I read a lot of blogs.  Some of them are listed on the blogroll to the right.  There is no way to consistently read blogs without eventually wanting to enter the conversation, especially when you watch them reference and link to each other.  It’s a big community, and eventually you want to get off the couch and join the party in the other room instead of just listening in through the doorway.

I’ve learned a lot from these blogs.  I’ve become aware of my privilege and my lack thereof in a way I hadn’t been before, and I’ve become a better ally. Best of all, I’ve learned that I’m not alone and I’m not crazy for finding our society as problematic as it so often is.

So hi.  Let’s talk.

1 Response to “Hajimimashite. Douzo yoroshiku onegaishimasu.”


  1. 1 Dr. J
    13 March 2009 at 11:12 am

    Wonderful. Love the Japanese (the direct translation is priceless).


Leave a Reply

