06
Apr
09

Awesome Web Discovery 2 – Oh Yoko

Cara at the Curvature has done an amazing five-part analysis of the hatred directed at Yoko Ono through a feminist lens. She points out why the hatred is both racist and sexist in origin, and that it reveals a great deal about public perceptions of successful women, especially those who have the gall to have successful relationships with successful men.

Intro: Oh Yoko

I have to admit, I used to hate Yoko Ono. I was (and am) a huge Beatles fan, and somehow I picked up on that ubiquitous “she broke up the Beatles” meme, and of course only a horrible horrible person could have done that.

I know better now. And while I know she won’t ever read this, Yoko, I’d like to apologise. You’ve deserved a great deal better than you’ve been treated.

2 Responses to “Awesome Web Discovery 2 – Oh Yoko”


  1. 1 35mmlens
    7 April 2009 at 12:28 am

    i agree that yoko has been the scapegoat for many beatles fans still heartbroken by their breakup……….i don’t know much about her, but i never thought of the hatred aimed at Yoko had to do with race……..and until now, it never occurred to me that that could be a possiblity……….i.ll have to check it out……..

  2. 2 arthermit
    8 April 2009 at 1:24 pm

    Definitely. And let me know what you think.


Leave a Reply

