24
Apr
09

Awesome Web Discovery 6 – You Don’t Have to Be Pretty

This essay is easily one of the most powerful, moving, and influential essays I have ever read. I want every female everywhere to have read it. I want it to be required re-reading once a year. I want to have it tattooed on my arm so I can make random people on the street read it.

Now, this may seem strange from someone who writes about pretty dresses (mostly) every day, but: You Don’t Have to Be Pretty. You don’t owe prettiness to anyone. Not to your boyfriend/spouse/partner, not to your co-workers, especially not to random men on the street. You don’t owe it to your mother, you don’t owe it to your children, you don’t owe it to civilization in general. Prettiness is not a rent you pay for occupying a space marked “female”.

Read the rest of You Don’t Have To Be Pretty at A Dress a Day

2 Responses to “Awesome Web Discovery 6 – You Don’t Have to Be Pretty”


  1. 26 April 2009 at 9:36 pm

    I agree with the statement. Women should only feel pretty for themselves not other. You can feel pretty in a gorgeous gown or in jeans and a shirt. It’s up to the person.

    A while back my mom and I went to a diet ‘doctor’. My mom was in a rush and did not have time to put on her make up. The ‘doctor’ kept mentioning how much prettier my mom is when she has make up on, and it made me really upset. I constantly tell my mom that she doesn’t need make up to be pretty, that she’s beautiful, and all of those compliments went to waste by one lady with a lot of plastic surgery and make up making a stupid statement.

  2. 2 May 2009 at 12:49 pm

    I read A Dress A Day but somehow I’d missed that one. Thank you! I love the sentiment and the reminder. You’re right, every single woman should read that.


Leave a Reply

