10
May
09

Happy Mother’s Day, Mom

Happy Mother’s Day, Mom!

It would take a book to cover all the reasons I’m grateful to you, but since this is a blog about feminism, I’m just going to mention a few that seem especially pertinent:

Thank you for yelling at my summer camp instructors so I could play soccer instead of doing cheerleading.

Thank you for keeping your birth name. I wouldn’t love you any less if you hadn’t, but the fact that you did meant growing up I always had an example of how you didn’t have to do things just because society told you you were supposed to, especially if you’re female.

Thank you for having such a great marriage. You and Dad set an amazing example of how a healthy adult relationship between equals is supposed to work, and while it gives me a lot to live up to, I’m grateful to have had the example.

Thank you for never telling me I wasn’t fine the way I was.

Thank you for teaching me math. When I’m out with a group of friends, I’m still commonly the one that’s fastest at calculating divisions and tips and stuff.

Thank you for liking my art.

Thank you for always supporting my interests, no matter how weird I’m sure they did (and still) seem.

Thank you for always taking me seriously.

Thank you for teaching me humanist values, and for teaching me you don’t need religion to have values.

Happy Mother’s Day, Mom, and thank you.

4 Responses to “Happy Mother’s Day, Mom”


  1. 1 Marlene
    10 May 2009 at 3:11 pm

    Waaayyy better than a sappy Hallmark card.
    Thank you for being a daughter I am so proud of.
    I love you. mom

  2. 2 Dr. J
    10 May 2009 at 3:32 pm

    This is so sweet!

  3. 11 May 2009 at 4:34 pm

    Aw Wow. That’s Awesome 🙂

    I enjoyed reading your blog. I can also tell that you’re a cat person lol

    It’s nice to see other female art student points a view.

    -D

  4. 15 May 2009 at 5:26 am

    Aww, this is very sweet. Also, I fully support your use of LOLCats.

    Much as I hate math, I am glad my parents and grandfather drummed it into me at least to the point where I can balance my checkbook, even if I’m still hopeless at dividing up the bill.


Leave a Reply

